On Line racing for dummies

Discussion in 'GT5 General Questions' started by Libre, Mar 16, 2012.

1. Libre

NYC USA
    PSN:Libre58

I'm one of the dummies.
    Can somebody give me the basics about racing on line with GT5?
    I'm a decent driver off line - or I'm learning to be one - I'm at lvl 23 right now. I'd like to try some friendly pick up races on line just to get the feel of it. So what's the best way for me to do it? Can I damage my cars or wear out my tires? Is that dependent on the race/track/event? Do you get credits you can use in the off line game? And do you lvl up in experience points? These are some of my questions.

Last edited: Mar 16, 2012
  2. Ryk

Ryk
    England Lancashire
    PSN:Ryk_BRM

You get some credits and XP when you finish a race. Not a great deal but some - I think each race moves the used car lot along a day - so If you are waiting for a certain car, be aware you could miss it by racing several races at a time.

I've only done a few onine races in GT5- sometimes you get a godo bunch sometimes you get a cluster of drivers that belong on the bumper cars. Also pick up races seem to have lot of driver aids in play.

When you do join a race... move your cursorover the driver list... I think this will giveyou what that driver is running - Try to use the same tyres as it will prevent avoidable accidents in brake zones. (If Guy on Race Softs is behind a driver on Sports Hards then you always get a dent or two into a corner.

it can take a while to join a race.
    the race list has s star system anda volume setting on the right... no idea what this means... signal strength... recommendations perhaps... I tend to go for races with 4 stars/bars

3. Delta795

Kansas City, Missouri
    PSN:Delta795

Added my .02 in as well

4. MSTER232

United Kingdom United Kingdom
    PSN:MSTER232

To answer your questions: