Future of the Current Tracks (with Poll)

• Thread starter bman1984
  • 145 comments

Is it time to do away with the last generation tracks?

• Total voters
United States
United States
I know I’m possibly in for a quite virtual beat down with this touchy subject, but I have to know.... *THE FOLLOWING INCLUDES MY OPINIONS*

So after going through the threads relating to the standard cars, it got me thinking, what about the tracks? You see the track environment and trackside elements much, much more than the cars. I’ve read comments over a long period of time mentioning things like outdated, poor textures, 2D and so on. I’m not talking about the accuracy of for example the time period of the 1980’s versions of Brands Hatch and Monza. Immersion (that old time feeling) is missing from those. I’m talking about the overall location/track representation.

I’m no professional, but compare Nurburgring or Circuit de la Sarthe to say Grand Valley, Trial Mountain or Deep Forest Raceway. Really? Even Laguna Seca IN MY OPINION isn’t “premium”, comparable to the cars exterior model. Heck none of those even have Day/Night transition or at the very least Weather Changes (Rain/Fog), comparable to cars detailed interiors. Eiger Nordwand still says “2006” on the Start/Finish banner. Does that go also? I mean that’s EONS ago, we can’t have that!! Maybe it’s a good thing they don’t being back many last generation tracks like Midfield or Seattle. It’s too bad though.