Is it time to let go?

• Thread starter robbyf
  • 335 comments
United States
ft worth
Even though I read the boards daily I never write or post. I am more of lurker, but I would like to bring up for discussion a topic in regards to what exactly Gran Turismo means to me, you and of all us. With Forza 6 just weeks away from release and still refusing to buy an xbox I'm starting to question myself a lot . Forza 6 looks AMAZING.
Also like a lot of you I started playing gt1 when it first came out..I was a young probably 11 or 12. Played with my friends for hours..great memories.
Then got gran turismo 2 one Christmas. I remember playing that all Christmas break with my dad ..one of my favorite memories.
My first ps2 came with gt3 remember being blown away with the graphics. And playing until my fingers hurt talking to girlfriends on the phone and listening to my teenage music in my room in high school. Memories.
Then gt4 came...i guess I was 20 or 21 or so. I was an adult and that's around the time my first son came. Gt4 was glorious. I remember my fiance thinking I'm nuts while playing hours and hours or taking photos or watching b spec Bob race for me or falling asleep with the photomode slideshow and then later winning eendurance races with blistered thumbs. Gt4 Felt less like a game more like a lifestyle.Memories, memories ,memories.

All four of the first games coincided with very important phases in my life. From pre-teen to teen to adult hood. From middle school, to high school to starting a family not to mention the Playstion upgrades . I grew up with that controller in my hand , with the tune shop, the the legacy tracks, the lounge music jazz...and I don't want to let go. I really don't. I'm 31 now. I have 3 kids..( and yes they play too and that's a trip in itself!) I am married I have a real job. I still play gt6 I'm the constant quest to find the "perfect car" or the perfect tune.