Bottoming Out - how to tell?

• Thread starter x08
  • 17 comments

x08

Hey guys... How do u tell if ur car is bottoming out? I'm not very good at the whole analysis thing... and how do u tell if it's the front or back?

And yes - I know the fix is to either stiffen the springs or to raise the car...

tx

This is a good question, and something i found myself wondering quite a few times. After playing for a long time i thought of an even better question: how much does bottoming out affect performance? Everyone knows that lowering the car greatly improves cornering, and i found that most of the time i never noticed the car ever being too low aside from rarely bouncing way in the air when clipping an apex or something. The only other thing i can think of that would make me raise the car up some is Nurburgring, with all its weird bumps, but even then, who knows? I haven't raced anything with a super low ground-clearance like the minolta or the 696b on the ring. Heck i might even venture to say that on the average track if your bottoming out someplace, your probably making up the time lost (if any) through the other 99% of the track.

-Shmak

I think that bottoming out is what's causing a lot of increased rear tyre wear on my minolta when I'm running on Le Sarthe. I think the rear is pushed down by the wing at high speed the car bottoms out and the back wheels spin momentarily.

Trash_Master has made a great suggestion about looking for sparks and I'm goign to try that when I get home.

It is possible to bottom out by two different methods:

1.) Suspension bottoming ( hitting the bump stops )
2.) Chassis bottoming ( obvious sparks, etc. )

# 1 occurring will cause the following:

• Spring rate will rise to infinity, thereby eliminating all spring / shock compliance to the tyre. Typical driving feel symptoms brought by this can be described as a "darty, squirrly car."