Enthusia: Where's the Love ?

• Thread starter MisterToad
  • 57 comments
Hey, guys. I'm new to Enthusia and really enjoying it. I posted the following at Race Sim Central Forums. LOL, my thread got 0 responses. So I guess my question still stands. I've got my own opinions as to why I think Enthusia seems destined to go down in the annals of driving games as an under-appreciated diamond in the rough. But I'd like to read yours.

First of all, let me state that I came very late to the party. Played GT4 for quite a while, when Forza hit the stands I probably bought the first copy at the local EB. Played Forza non-stop from May until last week. Then I decided it was time to come up for air and give Enthusia a go for a change of pace. Found a used copy without much trouble and gave it a go.

Based on the generally lukewarm review scores, and the seeming indifference to this game, I had fairly low expectations. But all I can say is, WOW ! Okay, graphically, it's behind the curve relative to GT4 or Forza (even Race Driver 2), the interface is a clunky affair, there's the goofy lottery system, tracks are mostly so-so and so on. But for me, the physics come pretty close to redeeming all. In fact, they do. :) I think Forza (and GT4) come off second best when it comes to the sensation of weightiness to your car, the effects of weight transfer and approximating the feel of your tires on the road. The sound effects are very well done as well too, a lot of the cars sound better in Enthusia than their counterparts in GT4 and Forza. The car selection isn't half bad either. Admittedly weak when it comes to top drawer racing cars, but there are plenty of gems to be mined in the production car ranks.