Greyout's guide to spring stiffness & weight transfer

• Thread starter Greyout
  • 3 comments
Status
Not open for further replies.
(disclaimer: I'm not an engineer and don't pretend to be one)

This is not a replacement to M-spec's guide, he's got some great stuff in there.

In this post, I am looking to answer a few questions that come up, and to try and provide some knowledge so that as you adjust the settings, you know what is happening.

first up: weight transfer

It appears that many people are confusing body roll and weight transfer. Although we associate body roll & pitch with the same forces as weight transfer, they shouldn't be considered the same thing. Softening a spring does not increase weight transfer.

If you were to be riding on a giant sled, with absolutely no suspension, the sled would still exibit weight transfer in a corner, with no body roll at all.

f4e74059.jpg

Turning to the left, our little man leaning into the turn.

In steady state corning, what was 200 lbs on each side might become 150/250. The amount of weight transfer is detirmined by how wide the track is (wider = less weight transfer) and how high the CG is (lower CG = less weight transfer). One can easily see why high performance cars are wide & low to the ground :)

The reason why weight transfer is important is because of the relationship between how much lateral force a tire can generate and how much downward force is pushing it into the pavement. Obviously, the more downward force, then the more friction, but it does not increase on a 1:1 ratio. X downard force might result in Y friction, but 2X does not result in 2Y - it results in something less then 2Y.