Rx7 Lm

• Thread starter shaunsund
  • 28 comments
Hmmmm, I'm guessing it's not real. I never heard of Mazda racing at LeMans, but then again I'm not an expert. Someone posted last week and said that some of the LM cars are real and some aren't. If they aren't, they're still built towards LeMans specifications, which explains why (in GT2) you can't modify their brakes, their drivetrain parts, the power, etc.

Last edited:
Ha haaa, well that tells you i don't know jack about it! I don't really watch that much sports, I'm too busy pretending to race in videogame sims.

Last edited:
I don't think an RX-7 has competed at Le Mans in the past 20 years; but yes, Mazda's 787B conquered the 1991 24 Hour race. (Well, the leading Jaguar XJR-12 spun out midway through the race, losing a lap or two, which helped Mazda). That's not to say the RX-7 hasn't been a pheonmenal sucess in road racing over the years. The RX-7 was the weapon of choice for IMSA's GTU series, chalking up over 100 victories; its turbocharged small-displacement 2-rotor engine and overall light weight made it hard to beat.

The RX-7 LM (in any form) is not a real car. I suppose PD wanted a challenger for the JGTC Tom's Supra, R33 LM, Rally Impreza, and so they created cars like the Mazda RX-7 LM(s), Mitsubishi FTO LM, TVR Cerbera LM, etc.

Interesting. Yeah, I'm watching a race rite now that I taped yesterday...at Lime Rock. It's got a lot of touring cars. There are a few Mazda 6's and a Protege or two, but no RX-8. I guess this particular race is just limited: no full-on sports cars.

Last edited:
Parnelli Bone
Hmmmm, i'm guessing it's not real. I never heard of Mazda racing at LeMans, but then again im' not an expert. Someone posted last week and said that some of the LM cars are real and some aren't. If they aren't, they're still built towards LeMans specifications, which explains why (in GT2) you can't modify their brakes, their drivetrain parts, the power, etc.