Tips for a TT noob

I'm new to TT, my wife actually picked it up for me yesterday. I don't normally spend much time if any playing console games and technically the PS2 in my house belongs to my 13yr old but man TT is an amazing game! I'm extremely impressed with the quality of the game and how well it simulates riding. I think its about as good as it can get on the current generation of consoles.

Anyway the reason I'm here is despite having put about six hours :guilty: into the game already I'm still fairly sucky at it. I've struggled through the novice and junior licenses, golds are a rarity for me, maybe one or two for each license, now I'm beating my head against the Expert licence. I've tried a few races for bikes and I've never caught up with the AI rider much less passed him. I'm competent enough that I don't wreck much but I'm not hitting the turns on the right line and I'm not able to get back on the throttle soon enough to keep my times down.

Searching the net I'm not finding many tips for mastering the ride in TT so I was wondering if you guys had any links handy or just some tips for a noob? Any hints would be greatly appreciated.

On a side note, I ride in real life, doesn't seem to be helping me much in the game though, in the real world you look through the turn and the bike goes there but in TT I can't see all the way though the turn :scared: Here's a pic of my current bike, a BMW R1200RT:
r1200rt_1.jpg

What sort of view are you using? I have mine set to completely behind the bike. That way, I can see the entire bike and the course surrounding it. It gives me a bigger view of the course.

Have you played the sister game, Gran Turismo? If you haven't, then I can understand there's a learning curve for you. I can't think of any tricks or tips. It's just like riding in real life. Find the braking point for each corner, figure out how long you need to hold the brakes, and when you can roll on the throttle.