Apologies for dragging this up again but I've just read it.It's absolutely not that simple.
To give you an extreme example, a player standing 30 yards offside standing directly in front of the goalkeeper so that the keeper cannot see would be offside, whether they made any move towards the ball or not. This is covered in the "interfering with play" portion of the offside rules.
Here's IFAB's guidance - pay close attention to the "on becoming involved in active play" portion:
I've not watched a second of Euro 2020 so far, but I've dug out the Ronaldo goal against Germany...
It looks like Ronaldo is in an offside position when the first ball is played, as he is nearer the goal line than the second-last opponent - which is not an offence.
View attachment 1062518
It looks like Ronaldo is again in offside position when the second ball is played, as part of his head/body/feet (his knee) is nearer the goal line than the second-last opponent, though he is behind the ball - and it is immaterial in any case due to the first offside position.
View attachment 1062521
It looks like Neuer gets a touch on the ball with his left foot, which both is rebounding from an opponent and a deliberate save of a ball near a goal, though it is actually immaterial whether he does or not due to the above offside position:
View attachment 1062522
And then Ronaldo, who is no longer in an offside position, plays the ball:
View attachment 1062523
Let's refer back to the rules again:
And if Neuer did touch it:
It's pretty much a slam dunk of an offside offence.
And yes, so was Germany's third goal - but not Gnabry. Gnabry was in an offside position but didn't commit an offside offence. Havertz, who scored the goal, was so far offside he'd still be offside now and committed the offside offence when he subsequently played the ball to score:
View attachment 1062524
I also checked out the Portugal/France game and, yep, France's penalty was absolute nonsense. Lloris was also very unlucky - he did just clip the ball before punching the Portuguese player in the head.
It seems the officiating in that group has been pretty substandard, despite VAR. I can't speak for the rest of the tournament however.
I think your interpretation of the law is not how FIFA implement it, although it is a valid interpretation of the wording of the law. I'll try to explain what I mean using the Portugal goal in your post.
A player in an offside position at the moment the ball is played or touched* by a team-mate is only penalised on becoming involved in active play by:
- interfering with play by playing or touching a ball passed or touched by a team-mate
This part of the law also addresses a situation where the ball is played towards Ronaldo. If he doesn't attempt to play the ball, or prevent an opponent from playing the ball, he is also deemed to be inactive. If an onside teammate collects Silva's pass Ronaldo is permitted to get involved in the play immediately, if he has gotten himself into an onside position.
Everything that happens after Jota collects the ball is moot since Ronaldo is onside when Jota passes.