"I'm not a car guy." GT players......

United States
Fresno, CA, USA
SnakeEyes427
Full disclosure, I very much always have been and always will be a "Car Guy".

I am confused as to why anyone would play often yet not have a interest in the vehicles they are driving?

Sure we don't all like the same thing and that is not what this is about. However, if vehicles are literally just a way to keep from walking or getting bucked off a horse, why get stuck on a driving game?

Not a rant, genuinely confused 🤔

Thank you for your time.

I have been playing driving games for nearly 40 years (I had a Sinclair 48k Spectrum) and love them. I had GT1-4 when I was a PS1/2 owner but have never driven a real car in my life, only scooters (proper Italian ones). I was into cars when I was a teenager but now it's just the gaming/racing aspect I enjoy.

Last edited:
Maybe they’re not a car guy because they’ve only just started playing?

They’re car curious, but a long way from being a full blown car guy.

You may also consider that someone who spends their time building kit cars in their garage and then goes out racing them in real life, and yet has never picked up a PlayStation controller in their life, might only consider some who’s really really into Gran Turismo and plays it religiously day and night to be only car curious and a long way from being a full blown car guy.

Or something, i dunno.

Last edited:
Guilty as charged.

My reasoning is I love driving fast. I have 0% interest in the in-depth details of the machinery that allows me to go fast.

I only care about the details of racecraft.

You learn the details and limits of the car best either way by actually driving it rather than looking at its specs, so I have no interest whatsoever in learning the details of cars themselves beyond looking and ogling at them superficially.