Is anyone here a fan of the WipE’out” series?

United Kingdom
United Kingdom
This is my favourite franchise, followed closely by Gran Turismo. However it unfortunately seems to have died a death, which I don’t understand, and it causes me great sadness.

I’ve always wondered and even fantasised, would these games be more popular if there was a proper career/sim element to them?

As they are they are very much an arcade racer. However, if you could really get under the hoods (so to speak) of the racing craft, and really tweak and personalise them, and if there were a lot more different models to choose from - all different ones for each team and speed class, and also loads more tracks to race them on (i.e bringing all the old tracks from the previous games back with a new lick of graphical paint); do you think that would make a new WipE’out” game of interest to ‘serious’ racing game fans?

Last edited:
Yes! Wheels make racing games boring. I'm also a veteran of extreme-G, Episode 1 Racer Arcade, and Hydro Thunder, right down to the blue N64 game and the self destructing blue Dreamcast disc. I have many wipEout, two xG, and several versions of Hydro Thunder in my collection.

Around every three years, I boot up WipeOut Hd/Fury and play it all the way.

This series start for me with 2097 (and the best soundtrack of a game ever). It is so much fun.

Have you ever played Omega Collection in VR?

It’s something else, by far the most immense VR experience i’ve ever had - even more impressive knowing that the VR mode was just a patch. Makes me feel like WipE’out” was destined to be a VR game. Would love it if a new one was built around VR, and the ‘normal’ chase cam view was the patch!

Last edited:
If it's PSVR2, no. The device is too fragile for a game like that. One touch against my glasses destroyed one of the PSVR2 lenses.