How Do You Appeal to an International or Foreign Audience?

• Thread starter JohnBM01
  • 80 comments

JohnBM01

20 years!
Premium
United States
Houston, Texas, USA
JMarine25
GTPlanet, my last topic with a similar title was called "How Do You Appeal to the Youth Market?" Now, it's about how you appeal to an international audience.

I'm not a big pro on a lot of things. But I think when a car company wants to appeal to another country, it's not that easy because you never know what a country wants. Personally, I love cars. I love auto racing even more. I can respect almost any car that makes it onto my American shores (just let me know when it hits Houston, alright?). As an example, let's say Citroen wanted to move into the American market. Suppose Citroen wanted to bring the Citroen C3 to America to start with, and then bring in the Citroen C5. See something wrong here? There's ALREADY a C5 from Chevrolet. Perhaps a name change would have to be made so that American car afficionados don't start bashing Citroen for not naming the C5 into something else. I don't know about the European scene, but let's say that Chrysler wanted to introduce to the United Kingdom, the Chrylser 300C with the Hemi. Or maybe Ford bringing its American beast, the Mustang, out to invade Japan. Something expressed last year on Speed Channel's "World's Greatest Auto Shows: Bologna," a fellow Italian said that "we basically don't know American cars." So about as much as most of us Americans like being represented elsewhere in the world, some countries may not even know what our cars are like.

So this is the basis of my thread here. How do you apply to an international audience? Is it easy for some, hard for others? Would a car have to seriously specially modified and regulated to even be accepted into a certain international market? How can a country accept an import in question? Carry on, if you wish.