Close...but NO Cigar!

• Thread starter Old Geezer
  • 10 comments
United States
Bastrop, TX
JGTC300 vs Some FAST Cars
Extreme Hall Gran Turismo All Stars

I ran a quick test with a JGTC500 ride with about 750 HP & figured this series would be too easy. Instead I opted for one of my VERY Favorite rides in GT4, the TOYOTA "WedsSport" Celica (JGTC) '03. Unlike last time, (Reported HERE: ) max Turbo was used which yielded 622 HP. I did however stick with R-3 Tyres. I ran a quick test at "Autumn Ring" since I have very little experience there & found a good race. Went back to the "Series" screen & pushed the button.

The opposition I drew for this round included:

SAUBER Mercedes C9 Race Car '89
JAGUAR XJ-R9Race Car '88
NISSAN GT-R Concept LM Race Car '02
FORD GT LM Edition Spec-II '04
MAZDA RX-7 Race Car '01

These figures: Finish = Place / Race Time - Fast Lap. MOV = Margin of Victory (Where applicable!)

Race #1 High Speed Ring (171 Points)
Qualified 1st / 1'02.169
Finish 3rd / 7'22.050 - 1'01.870 (Lap #4) [Draft Aided]
MO"Loss" -8.998 👎

Qualified 1st but not by much. UNLIKE GT3 where you had "Bad Oil" HP to qualify with (Meaning you'd go faster in the race than you could qualify) GT4 gives you full HP BUT the "AI" seems to "Dawdle" a bit in qualifying & then really come on in the Race itself. Due to the tall gearing I got a terrible start & slipped to 4th briefly. Caught & passed the Jag by Lap #3 & was closing on the Sauber by Lap #4. Then his tyres must have finally warmed as he just drove away & left me. The Jag got by near the end as well & all I could do was watch their taillights disappear! :irked:

Race #2 Fuji Speedway '80s (171 Points )
Qualified 3rd / 1'10.944
Finish 3rd / ??.??.??? - 1'10.765 (Lap #3)
M.O.Loss" -23.4224 👎