Absolutely Gutted!

Messages
8
Messages
Scotty-1
Hey guys, first post here after lurking for ages and sadly it's a negative post. :indiff:

About an hour ago, on the Le Sarthe 24hrs race, after 4 days of on/off racing etc I got to almost 16 1/2 hours and was way out in front. Then out of nowhere, depsite me not even being connected to the PSN network, a message shows up during the race making me download the new 1.07 patch and I lose all my progress! To say I feel gutted would be an understatement.

Has this ever happened to anybody else here? If so I feel your pain and anger.

Although if, you know, PD ACTUALLY let you save during the race like you could on GT4 then this would be nowhere near as bad as having to leave on your PS3 for 4 days straight, only to have all that be rendered a complete waste of time. :indiff:
 
you could have just hit O & it would have signed you out... i have auto updates turned off on my PS3...this way it ask me before it updates.... i to was in the 24hr race last night, except i hit O and signed out of PSN
 
Note to self, I am unplugging my network connection when I do my next races.
 
I did press circle to try and cancel the update, but I ended up going back to the PS3 main menu.
 
I dont allow auto update either. Make it ask you for permission and your disapointment will be lower.
Besides you should never blindly download anything to your system. I always decline the download and go to the game makers site to make sure it's legit before I download.
 
I dont allow auto update either. Make it ask you for permission and your disapointment will be lower.
Besides you should never blindly download anything to your system. I always decline the download and go to the game makers site to make sure it's legit before I download.

Any download for PS3 games has to be done from within the system. Your mentality certainly applies in a PC scenario but is useless in a PS3 environment.
 
He means he goes to the GT site and makes sure that they have released an update that is called the same thing etc. before he installs it ... Which works perfectly well for the PS3 ... As for the update interrupting the race, thats really tough luck, just another thing that PD / PSN have cocked up, I would be very annoyed if I'd spent 16 1/2 hours on a race just to get kicked out of it ... It should be something that only pops up when you try to start the game up, and it should never appear at any other time!

If I where you I would just wait for the save feature / hope for the save feature to be added soon :)

I do hate though, how when there is an update, half of the things are cut off to you, and you are practically forced to do an update. It is just like how you are asked three times before you get to GT Life if you want to sign in to PSN if you initially say no!
 
Last edited:
I did press circle to try and cancel the update, but I ended up going back to the PS3 main menu.

Same thing happened to me, I was doing a 9 hour endurance race and a update popped up saying I had to update, I pressed cancel and it took me to the ps3 menu. Whats even worse is that my driver went down a level from 34 to 33 even though I saved during the time I was level 34. 👎
 
Back