AI Qualifying times compared to race pace

• Thread starter Paulzx
  • 8 comments
Paulzx
Sorry guys I know this has probably been covered before but I've not had the game very long.

I'm in the early stages of career mode, ai level is set around 84% which seems a competitive race pace for me against them at the moment.

However, when I qualify in the Ginetta or Clio cup, I'm literally last with 1 to 2 seconds off pole. When I do the race I invariably win - from the back, because my pace is a little stronger than the ai. I do not know how I'm not on the pace in quali, unless there is a bug and the quali times of the ai are unbalanced against the race lap times. I would think there have been enough patches by now though if that were the case.

I know about getting the tyres at optimal temps, running fuel low etc, I have some experience from the first game, but I'm really getting nowhere near those ai quali times.

Anyone else seen this or know what the issue is?

Are you on PC or console?
The performance diffence between qualy and race has been toned down a bit (not completely removed) with patch 4 which isn't available on consoles yet.

Yep, same issue, although I haven't played PCars in a while, had it in beginning at 60 AI, still happens with AI anywhere between 105-120, very close in Q then I bolt away, or far behind in quali but I still fight for the win. Also, yeah, AI is inconsistent between cars, in some I can get a pole at 120, in some cars I'm nowhere, while AI is seconds faster than world records.

Are you on PC or console?
The performance diffence between qualy and race has been toned down a bit (not completely removed) with patch 4 which isn't available on consoles yet.

On PS4 so hopefully next patch resolves it then. It's not very realistic is all, considering the ethos of the game etc