Ascending The Peaks Of Mount Panorama

• Thread starter jcmc
  • 12 comments
jcmc968
I am really quite smitten with this new track in GT6. By coincidence, a week before the game was released I started playing Real Racing 3 on my iPad and this track featured in a lot of events. It was the first time I had even heard of it.

Now on GT6 it has become my test track of choice with its perfect mix of high speed straights, fast sweeping corners and twisty technical sections that gives a work out to every part of a car and quickly gives you a sense of whether your selected vehicle is pretty good or not.

Every great circuit needs a seminal corner or two and there's a few contenders on Mount Panorama. I like the first right hander that takes you up the hill early in the lap at the end of the long straight, but my current favourite it towards the end of the circuit. You come out the twisty section and you have a long, fast downhill section that leads into a very fast easy right-hander. Trying to be bold and taking that at full speed is a real thrill - I managed it at 180mph in a McLaren MP4 while I flew spectacularly off track at 175mph in a GT-R.

With a decent lap coming in somewhere between two and two and a half minutes, it's also a perfect length to give you a time reflective of the car you are running while not causing you to necessarily restart every time you make a mistake.

I have run maybe 15 cars on it and enjoyed every one in different ways. My fastest time was just under 2 minutes with the Audi Pikes Peak Quattro followed by a 2:15 with a Delta S4 on perhaps the most edge of the seat lap I have driven in GT5 so far. Oddly my Nissan GT-R Black Edition time is nothing all that special and comes in around the same as a Ferrari 599 or 430 Scuderia, while the biggest revelation was the M4 I picked up last night - it's surprisingly fast and great on that circuit in stock form.

I refer to it as Bathurst as well, but yes, same course.