Beeblebrox237's Layers Tutorial

Beeblebrox237

Two heads, no brains...
Premium
United Kingdom
Betelgeuse
Beeblebrox_237
Hello there! I am Beeblebrox237, and you are reading my tutorial on using layers. Before you continue, consider that everything you see here is self-taught. If you have anything to add, I'd be happy to include it, and any criticism would be welcomed. I hope that you can learn something from it! :cheers:

So, I am going to attempt to teach you how to add a bit of artistic flair to a photo you've taken in GT5. Or anywhere, for that matter. Adding layers with gradients lets you adjust the colour balance of a part of a photo, rather than the whole thing. Lets look at a few examples of photos that have been edited with layers, first:

More artistic:

Here I've used a layer to warm up the flowers:

Here's a more subtle use:

Okay, now we've seen what can be done with them, lets get on with the tutorial. I use an online photo editor called pixlr, you can get to their editor here. As the tutorial progresses, I would recommend that you go into pixlr yourself and follow along. I would also encourage you to play around while following along, so that you can begin to find your own style and have a bit of fun. The tutorial may be able to be followed in other editing software, but I haven't tried it. Please tell me if it is compatible with GIMP, photoshop, lightroom, or any other programs you use.

First, open up a photo. Any photo will do, but I recommend a lighter shot, and one that you want to make artistic, rather than realistic. Then, go over to the "layers" box on the right and click on the "new layer" icon.

Layers-2_zps752867be.png

Once you have created a new layer, it will automatically be selected for editing. Whatever you do to this layer will be independent of the "background" photo, but will act as an overlay. You can select different layers to edit by clicking on them in the layers box.