Brake Balance - could use some help

United States
New Jersey
So I've been at this now since Christmas, 2017 and have never really touched the brake balance in any car. Basically, I'm new to racing games (sans the 1980's arcade games) and I have never been one to be considered a "gear head". I like cars, I know nice ones when I see them and as I've gotten older and able to afford them, I've come to appreciate driving nicer cars. I went from a Kia Soul to an Audi A4, needless to say, there is a difference. (no offense to any Kia Soul drivers).

So the question about brake balance is probably rather generic and in 2 parts:

1. What is it exactly? The explanation on the game, for this non-mechaincally inclined person, isn't very clear. So can someone explain it to me?

2. Obviously, this is a game and not real life and despite being the "Real Driving Simulator" I'm fairly certain driving these race cars isn't as easy as the game makes it out to be; so the 2nd part of my question is, how does it work with the games? I see people talking about brace balances being one way or another in certain types of cars. Why is this?

Also, having an understanding of this, will it help me have better times? I seem to skid a bit much in certain cars around certain turns, again, I'm guessing, but would proper brake balance help with this?

Thanks

Last edited:
My understanding of this subject is very simplistic.

Brake balance forward = better straight line stopping ability and understeer.

Brake balance rear = reduced straight line stopping ability and oversteer.

Tweak the setting to get the handling that works for you.

Mechanically I think it means the amount of braking applied to the front and rear wheels.

There will be someone along shortly telling you this is all completely wrong.