British GT Series (updates after every race)

• Thread starter in.s@ne
  • 6 comments
Here we go, my shot at the British GT Series.
My car for this event: Jaguar XK-R R Performance '02, with tuning thanks to CamryFan and his N-Tune garage.

The lineup:
TVR T350C '03
Aston Martin DB9 Coupe '03
TVR Tamora '02
Lotus Esprit V8 SE '98
TVR Tuscan Speed 6 '00
Jaguar XK-R R Performance '02

I expect this to be somewhat of a challenge, because of two reasons: 1) My car weighs a lot compared to these and 2) I am a rubbish driver (that's the main one).

So, we head to Grand Valley Speedway, the first race of the championship.

Grand Valley Speedway
Qualifying
The first couple of laps I used to get used to the cars grip levels on S3 (I've only run on R1's previously) and also to re-learn entry speeds and cambers etc.
Lap 6 - Time for a hot one!
Hard onto the brakes and into the first tight right hairpin, and held a very good exit speed which was carried into the high-speed S's. Flat chat through the left, and just a small dab of brakes on the right, then flat again through the final left. Very hard onto the brakes for the notorious hairpin, exiting at around 40 mph. A bit of a slide through the dual bus-stop complex, but still an OK lap. Carrying great speed through the chicane and holding 77 through the tight right hander, before being back down hard onto the brakes through the chicane, 75 on the exit, and 100 through the last right hander, then across the line at 144mph, with a time of 2' 09.483, a pole position start.

Race Day
The starting order:
1) Jaguar XK-R R Performance
2) TVR Tuscan Speed 6
3) TVR Tamora
4) Lotus Esprit V8 SE
5) TVR T350C
6) Aston Martin DB9 Coupe

A-Spec points (for those that care): 133

The lights go out, and the Tuscan gets a fantastic start, while too much wheel spin from the Jag saw me slip back to 2nd. I catch up the Tuscan by the time we get to the S's, but completely ruin the hairpin, and both the Tuscan and the Esprit slip through.