Can't keep up online, need tuning advice

• Thread starter Gejost
  • 5 comments
I rediscovered GT5P since I bought me a DFGT not that long ago. Man, what a difference! All I can say is, this game is made to play with a steering wheel. I'm even thinking about upgrading to a G25 next year at GT5's launch. I'm having lots of fun, but the thing is, I can't keep up with most players online. And i'm sure it's not only because I make to many mistakes, haha, but mainly because i'm a complete noob at tuning. I have absolute no idea what I need to change. I just play around with it a bit and see how it goes. I even changed from manual to automatic, i'm desperate. But no matter what I change, I can't seem to get it right.

What are the most important things to change? Is it worth getting R3 tires? Or is it better to spend those points in something else? What about lowering weight and increasing power? Or changing gear ratio? Are there some things you should always change?

Last edited:
First thing if you can race manual then keep it that way. I'm not a tuner so I my not give the best of help. As for tyres R3's are not always the first choice, yes they give you better grip but the downfall is reduced speed on the straights. Maybe looking around in the tuning threads might help you. You can see whats done and try learn from that

I can race with manual but when I switched to automatic I was a bit faster. It was one less thing to focus on, now I can focus only on the road. Perhaps it's like my brother told me, i'm trying to many things at once. When I got my DFGT I bought GT5P again and from the start I played with pro physics and manual, although I normally always race in every racegame with automatic. And not only that, but I also had to adapt to a steering wheel. And pro physics doesn't make it any easier. But i'm having fun, and that's all that matters. :)

EDIT: And actually there are tuning topics for the online events, I must have overlooked them. :embarrassed: