Car choice: When does overkill set in?

• Thread starter JB23
  • 3 comments
Let me start by saying that I hate to lose at anything, and the fact that this game can be humbling has given me a new perspective relative to my competitive nature. I know many of you choose cars that won't overpower the opposition, but as this is my first time through GT3, I want to win those prize cars, and I'm not the most patient person in the world.

Fast forward; I'm now working on the Pro League and Endurances concurrently, but running the Pro Turbo Challenge caused me to think about my choice of car. Eventually I settled on using three different cars, one of which was my newly acquired F/688. Now it quickly became apparent that this was going to be a mismatch, but I justified it by thinking that I'm going to need this car sooner or later, and I need to get some experience with it.

I can certainly see going back to redo GT3 looking for new challenges, but the first time around, I want to win. Actually, I had so much fun running the Miata Roadster Enduro that I'm going to run it again tonight even though I won the F/688 my first time around. So, I guess what I'm asking is about your approach to choosing a car for a particular race, and for those of you working on your second, third or fourth memory card, try to remember back to the first go round.

On my first play through I remember tweaking out and Audi TT to full mods and a Zonda c12s, then with the zonda I won a f090/s, I really didn't spend much time with any other cars in that first play thru. All three cars were overkill for their respective classes and races.

Second time through I made a point to experiment with more cars. THis is where I fell in love with RUFs, especially the RGT. I also came to like the skylines, evos and imprezzas. I also found the Gillet Vertigo in this play through. I still overkilled on most races but I used more cars.