Couple of questions about gas usage

• Thread starter ebadevil
  • 13 comments
United States
Atlanta, GA
EBA_Devil
I have a couple of questions for the more knowledgeable drivers out there about gas usage. Since it's not painful enough to deal with gas prices in real life, GT7 also makes me conserve gas virtually as well, which is a bummer. But, anyways, here are the questions:
1) how do you tune your cars for hp vs weight for the longer races with gas usage? Sardegna for example. Does it make sense to put on ballast and let's say have a strategy of doing fm6 first half and fm5 second half? Or should I be tuning for let's say fm2 first half and fm1 second half? Am I unnecessarily driving heavier cars and still killing my hp by driving on higher fuel management levels?
2) I'm not a great mechanic, but based on what I know about the LSD, I wouldn't think that it impacts gas usage but looking at the throttle bar, it seems like the game is varying the throttle output. So does a more open initial/acceleration LSD use more gas in the game?
3) what other settings have an impact on gas? I know hp and weight are the obvious but what about things like downforce and transmission ratios?
4) what produces better lap times when you're "saving" some gas- let's say a lap on fm2 and going full speed or do you think it's better to do fm1 and just cruise through a few corners?

Any other tips/tricks on how to get best lap times while managing gas? Thanks for help everyone!

Last edited:
What is going to save you some of the most fuel is short-shifting like you would driving your normal car and going down the FM if you are in someone's slipstream as well as when you are in area of the track with a lot of turns (let's say the start of a lap at Daytona) and then going back up when you are on the straight