Create game partition?

• Thread starter BenVereen
  • 8 comments
United States
United States
I'm completely new to GT. I picked up 5 about a week ago and I'm LOVING it! I golded the B and A license tests and raced A-Spec through Professional. I used assists and DLC cars (XL Edition) through most of it and didn't discover how much more fun the game is without assists until two days ago. I feel like I cheated myself out of a fun beginning. Sooo... I decided to start over.

I deleted my save AND game data (just to be squeaky clean and fresh) and proceeded to re-install GT5. However, I met a screen telling me to create a 2200mb partition before the disc could boot. I might be going crazy, but I don't remember my PS3 asking me to do this the first time I loaded the disc. I Googled around but didn't find anything solid. Is this normal? GT5's handling of data seems convoluted and inefficient to say the least. I can't help but feel like this single game is going to fragment the life out of my HDD.

I'm posting this with the GTPlanet app, so I apologize if this reads as a wall. It's difficult to judge on this little screen! Thanks in advance guys! And thanks for giving me something to read in my downtime a work! I've been lurking the forums ever since I bought GT5. You guys have already helped my game and you didn't even know it! :P

its downloading all the updates which is a lot. And why did you delete your game data if you wanted a clean start?? All you had to do was delete your save data for a clean start.

That’s two members asking the same thing about partition... news to me... I wonder what might be going on with the downloading now ? Could it have something to do with a GE new block or possibly not being allowed to stop at 2.11... sounds weird to me...