[DIY] Shane's PVC racing rig design and made

• Thread starter cornshane
  • 7 comments
Taiwan
Taiwan
Hello,

(I am TAIWANESE and feel sorry for the bad English expression :scared:)

I am a big racing-game lover and played every F1 game and GT series since high school for almost 20 years.

I have been working for several years now, and the enthusiasm racing game has not decreased.

When the GT SPORT came out 2 yrs ago, I finally bought my first gaming racing wheel!

"Thrustmaster T300rs GT edition"

mobile01-d94df859276bfe4f1fbb676ebdc47cec.jpg

It's a fine-made product, which has smooth turning feeling, stable fixing, and beautiful shape.

By the way when GTS came out, the T300rs was out of stock almost 5 months in Taiwan!!!

mobile01-2a4fa238cd724ec057c35c7bf371a3ad.jpg

There is no extra space allow me to put T300rs in the living room, I can only fix it in my desktop to play like photo shows.

Well... this created lots of problem.

Not only takes a large portion of the desktop space, but also very inconvenient for my wife to use the keyboard and she always kicks the pedal accidentally.

Fortunately, there is still space in the room, so I decided to buy a racing frame and start to research.

I use common brand "PLAYSEAT" for example,

1.SEAT MODE

mobile01-80be427bedfdd88fa4b52e507d0381d3.jpg

pros: easy to assembly, high flexibility to move anywhere
cons: simple structure, serious shaking when hard playing

2.COCKPIT MODE

mobile01-99a60cca736a157667fbe3f6794144f5.jpg

pros: steady, and the seat is very comfort
cons: Need space to put in front of the monitor or TV.

3.COCKPIT MODE WITH MONITOR

mobile01-9099adb0e2e4ef1b218450f8262669f4.jpg

pros: gather all the equipment together, can put anywhere
cons: In order to stabilize the screen and equipment, the metal structure is very heavy and difficult to move.

I'm prefer the 3rd option "COCKPIT WITH MONITOR". Because I want to put this in my study room's corner instead of occupying living room.