Do you brake with the right foot?

• Thread starter slthree
  • 29 comments
United States
Fact Central Florida
slthree
I'm new to the wheel and I've been using my left foot to hold my cheap plastic pedal base down while using my right foot for gas and brake

However, I just read through a thread where someone was complaining of pain in his left foot after long racing sessions.

A bunch of people replied to give him advice (why I love this site) and not a single person told him he should be using his right foot.

So, that made me think I'm doing it wrong. Am I supposed to be braking with my left foot?

I'm new to the wheel and I've been using my left foot to hold my cheap plastic pedal base down while using my right foot for gas and brake

However, I just read through a thread where someone was complaining of pain in his left foot after long racing sessions.

A bunch of people replied to give him advice (why I love this site) and not a single person told him he should be using his right foot.

So, that made me think I'm doing it wrong. Am I supposed to be braking with my left foot?
It is not necessarily wrong...maybe less efficient. In racing Left braking is the standard. I recommend doing some research on leftfoot braking on youtube. However if you feel you are faster by using rightfoot braking then just stick with that!

I use right foot braking IRL, but left foot braking in games. Gives you a lot more control, but can lead to unbalancing the car if not done properly. That's why I don't do it in real life :P

I brake with right foot and accelerate with left foot. It started when me and my friends held a series with no abs, I found that it has been more precise, but it's just me. Like @PocketZeven said, it's depends if you're faster or not with right foot braking
:confused: How does that work? Do you move the gaspedal to the left?

edit: spelling correction

Last edited:
:confused: How does that work? Do you mode the gaspedal to the left?