Driver rating help please

• Thread starter Vipernut
  • 10 comments
New Zealand
New Zealand
Can someone please point me in the right direction on explaining driver rating. I was on Bathurst at night, started 16/18 (only 1 lap practice on RH and hit the wall so poor qualifying). My race had about 4 incidents of SR down, (1 my fault but all just bump n grind stuff, no off track/wall hits) and I managed to finish 8th, was really happy with that!

Here's where I'm confused:

SR went down 1 (fair enough) but my DR went down 100, not much but still, down? I went up 8 places. I'm a B/B rated driver, everyone else similar (in total 5 were C/D/E DR but all about B SR).

Why did the DR go down when I went up 8 places?

Thanks for looking

It depends on your DR and that of the other drivers. Finish position is all that counts, where you start is irrelevant.

DR is a point exchange system, you take points from drivers you finish in front of and give points to those that finish ahead.
Base starts at 80 points per driver, so finishing 8 of 18 you lose 7x80 and gain 10x80.

However the difference between your DR and the driver you give/gain points from matters.
The difference between yours and their DR varies the amount by 80 points, the actual amount you gain/lose is 1 to 160 points per driver.

For every 500 DR points difference you get an extra point if the DR of the driver you beat is higher than yours.
For every 500 DR points difference you lose an extra point if the DR of the driver you finish behind is lower than yours.

SR doesn't matter, you said DR of other players varied from E to C.

DR.A+ runs from 50k to 75k
DR.A runs from 30k to 50k
DR.B runs from 10k to 30k
DR.C runs from 4k to 10k
DR.D runs from 0k to 4k
DR.E means you have not yet completed 5 races, they don't count. You don't get actual DR points until completing your fifth race.

If your DR is DR.B at 20K and you finish behind a DR.C driver with 5K, you lose 80 + (15,000 / 500) = 110 points to that driver