Elite driving skills and its impact on career gameplay.

• Thread starter sk8er913
  • 18 comments
United States
California
Sk8er913
We have a lot of really fast drivers on this forum...

In GT5 prologue I was a bit of a noob. I had an interest in cars and played several other simcades and Arcade racers. But I was young and inexperienced. And I was excited for GT because they are always high quality products. (In comparison to NFS and many other racers)

Then in 2010 with GT5 I was still a bit of a noob. Mostly because I was only as good as the AI required of me which generally is not much. As usual I progressed through career and found online which made me a significantly better driver. I would probably be a D6 or D7 driver in Snail towards the end of it.

Finally GT6 came, by this time I was a skilled racer and quickly progressed through career mode and had some fun with it and went to online mode for events like our GTP ES. I became a very advanced player. I placed 32nd in GTAcademy USA.

Now we are waiting for GT7 and I am a very advanced player as many of us are after years of playing GT. Im curious of how it will impact my enjoyment of the game. Of course I'm going to enjoy the enhanced realism. But it just feels like career mode is going to be a complete bore no matter what they do to it. I am just too fast for the AI. And 2 lap races are not fun at all. Is there such a thing as too good at a game? Because if there is such a thing, we are in this forum.

Do you think career mode can be enjoyable for everyone? Or is it just tailored towards the average person. Do you think PD will take steps to broaden their targeted audience for career mode this year since they are attracting more and more drivers that they train to be professionals?

</end rant>

I think this is the longest post I have ever made...

Provided they add an option to change the quality of the AI so it can be configured to suit more people.

They did it in GT PSP so it can be done.