First impressions of GT5

• Thread starter flyingkiwi
  • 12 comments
Well, I bought my PS3 and ordered the American version of GT5, XL.

Started playing a couple of days ago. Here are my first impressions.

1. Started off with a bit of Arcade mode. Much different first-up than what I am used to in GT4. The Toyota Supra JGTC car I was using just did not like getting the power down at all and I had to gently apply the acceleration. Much different than in GT4, where you could bascially just give it 100% throttle. I wonder if this is because I have no experience points yet. Are experience points connected to Arcade mode?

2. The graphics were not as good as I thought (so far).

3. I love the different lighting, depending on the time of day.

4. The AI cars are a lot better competition on first impressions. I used a second-hand MX-5 in the Sunday Cup first up and couldn't win the first two races!

5. I think the driving skill required to do well in GT5 is already a lot more realistic than in GT4.

6. Have not gone online yet, but I am wondering what is the best way to begin.

Purchased a second-hand MX-5 and used it in the Sunday Cup.

Congratulation on migrating from GT4 to GT5. For me, online racing is where all the fun is but be prepared because online racing is a mixed bag of experiences.

The best way to begin is to stay in A-spec and never touch online unless you are in a private lobby. That is my advice. The AI are a lot better than before, but the overall pace of them is slower. The arcade and one-make races are very fun and the AI are somewhat more aggressive. There is so much to do in the game, you may never get bored. I just got to level 40 and I have been playing pretty much since launch day.

I wouldn't say stay away from public lobbies because if you don't join public lobbies then you will never find anyone to race with. The only time I resort to hosting a private race is when I want to race endurance races (100+ laps) and don't want any surprises.