Gear Ratio Calculator or Explanation

• Thread starter dazlia
  • 5 comments
d4zlia
Hi,

Before anyone says "use the search function" on here let me assure you i have lol

Quick question for you lads please.

Does anyone know of a really simple gear ratio calculator that allows you to enter a few simple figures taken from the specs for a partuclar car and it will then give you the optimum gear ratio?

I'm new to tuning and im not a complete petrol head so a lot of it i dont fully understand but id like to setup my cars easily and quickly?

Anyone offer me a link?

I did read something on here a few days ago about multiplying HP by torgue or something but i cant find that thread now.

Many thanks

Hi, I think this is the "multiply HP/torque" thread you were talking about: https://www.gtplanet.net/forum/showthread.php?t=199540 .But get out your calculator cos it's very in-depth...

Are you tuning for drag or circuit racing? If circuit, absolute precision in tuning gears is not so critical. So there are shortcut methods to get "near enough is good enough" results without drowning in maths!

Hi, I think this is the "multiply HP/torque" thread you were talking about: https://www.gtplanet.net/forum/showthread.php?t=199540 .But get out your calculator cos it's very in-depth...

Are you tuning for drag or circuit racing? If circuit, absolute precision in tuning gears is not so critical. So there are shortcut methods to get "near enough is good enough" results without drowning in maths!

Hi Nomis, thanks for replying :) Appreciated. However it wasnt actually this thread i was talking about amte it was another one which actualy told you what to multipl by what. We have a le 'sarthe race and im using the 787b stealth car set at 700pp. All i want to do is set my gears up so that i get maximum accelration off the line but still balanced with top end speed for those long straights.

I knwo tuning is complicated but surely there is a simple way of doing this without all the maths.