Getting a loan.........at 18

I'm a little new to all this so please bear with my ignorance. I'm wanting to buy a used car through an individual and plan on probably wanting to find a loan for at most $3000. The problem i keep getting is most loan sites i've been going to require a minimum of around $5-$9,000-ish. And another problem is i'm 18. I might be able to get my parent's to co-sign but if i could go it on my own, i'd like that more. Any alternatives, such as getting a personal loan? Help!

thanks in advance.

The best way I can think of is for you to get the loan from your parents, and your parents get the loan from their bank. I think the second best way is you getting the auto loan from your bank/credit union with your parents as the cosigner.

I had loans at 18, but they were for college tuition. I'm sure you're not going to have an easy time getting a used car loan at your age - especially not one with a good rate. It would help if you had a regular income that was well above the necessary payments.

Might be worth looking for a deal to get a car on finance, you'll pay interest but you would with a loan. Basically you pay for the car monthly, like £200 each month for however many months.

azndrifter318
I'm a little new to all this so please bear with my ignorance. I'm wanting to buy a used car through an individual and plan on probably wanting to find a loan for at most $3000. The problem i keep getting is most loan sites i've been going to require a minimum of around $5-$9,000-ish. And another problem is i'm 18. I might be able to get my parent's to co-sign but if i could go it on my own, i'd like that more. Any alternatives, such as getting a personal loan? Help!

thanks in advance.

Go to a bank in person (with a co-signer just in case) to take out a personal loan and then buy the car with the cash.