Help! Willow Springs Neo Classics - I have nothing more to give!

United Kingdom
London
N. vonMarshall
So a bit of background... I am a B/A level driver online, drive with a DS2 and play GT7 on Hard settings.

Most races I can win easily and there are a few select ones that take me a few goes or where I need to refine car choice, tactics or head tp the tuning forum to help.

But Willow Springs seems to me to be impossible.

I know the track well, have gold in the driving experience by over 1/2 second and am now pretty consistent. I probably leave .25 seconds a lap out there for fear of getting too close to the edge and ending the lap, but not much more than that and there is no way I can do 10 qualifying level laps back to back so it is going to have to stay out there.

I have a Jaguar XR-9 as my weapon of choice and really don't want to have to invest in another Gr.1 car so hope I can get 3rd at least with this. I started stock and was doing 1:12's in it, the Priano tune did not really suit my style, but I found another tune which really worked for me...

Jag XR-9 tune by BrainstormAQ

Some judicious tweaking of the gearbox now has it as good as I can get it.

The winner normally gets a time of anywhere between 11:45 and 11:55 so is averaging 1:10 laps. He is normally about 15 seconds ahead of me to begin the race.

I have tried this menu book nearly 20 times now and tried the following...

Hard tires, FM2-3 no stopping. Not bad for 8 laps and up to 2nd in one race, but the tires (front in particular) just won't last and I was suddenly 4-5 seconds too slow on the last lap. Most laps @1:10 apart from the 1st and the last!

Medium tires, FM1 with a single stop. Most laps @ 1:09 but the stop adds 15 back in.

The end result is I don't know how I can go much faster in this car and I certainly cannot work out a way to no-stop, but I am 15 seconds off the leader no matter which strategy I follow and seem to bag 5th almost every go.