How to access the game files?

• Thread starter Shahar
  • 7 comments
Israel
Israel
I am a computer science student and I want to look "under the hood" of GT3.
To make it clear, I want to do this just for learning, not for modding or anything like that ( Also my PS2 is dead for years now).
I want to access the GT3 files. How can I do that?

Last edited:
Putting it in a PC should work.

Tried with an old Spyro game and there's just 5 files sitting there. Can't seem to open any even in 7-Zip to dig for media files etc.

I'm interested too now, I want to look for hidden stuff for the research thread. Xenn or one of the others on that thread should know.

I thought maybe the reason I couldn't open them was because 7-Zip didn't want to open inside the files straight off the disk. I thought if I copied them to my PC it might work, but I think that'd be illegal, or does it count as a backup copy?

Last edited:
Putting it in a PC should work.

Tried with an old Spyro game and there's just 5 files sitting there. Can't seem to open any even in 7-Zip to dig for media files etc.

I'm interested too now, I want to look for hidden stuff for the research thread. Xenn or one of the others on that thread should know.

I thought maybe the reason I couldn't open them was because 7-Zip didn't want to open inside the files straight off the disk. I thought if I copied them to my PC it might work, but I think that'd be illegal, or does it count as a backup copy?

I can access the disk content, the problem is that it is just mechine code.

Then I don't think you can unless you can find a PS2 code reader program.

I just remembered the vol extractor, but I don't think it'll let you see the code, just the media files.

A lot of the game's code is viewable using typical file viewers like HxD.

At first glance it may not be understandable, so you'll want to view them in a 8 byte layout. This is because certain values in the game use 8 digit codes like the various car parts in the game.