Idea: Developing a real Track Creator/Editor

• Thread starter yossigab
  • 7 comments
YossiGab , GTP_YossiGab
Hi All,

Since GT5 doesn't have a "real" track creator/editor and it only has a track-generator I came up with an idea a long time ago and I've been thinking about it for quite a while now.

The idea is creating a track creator/editor on a PC. I am a SW developer my self and thought about it a lot but it is way beyond my available time (and some expertise probably). So I give my idea here so the community could take the idea and start working on it.

Here are the general steps of how to develop such a tool:
1) The generated tracks are saved as a part of the user progress file. So first there is a need to analyze save-file structure to distinguish the track from the user. This can be done as follows:
a) create a new user with no cars/trophies - keep the file simple
b) copy the file to SD
c) generate one simple track
d) copy the new file to SD
e) using HEX editor - analyze the file to discover the track data
f) modify the track a bit
g) copy the "new-new" file to SD
h) HEX editor - learn more
f) repeat it as many times as needed to understand the file and its mechanics

2) After understanding the file structure clearly, one can develop a PC tool that can create such files based on user request of parameters (corners, slopes, etc.).
It could be that in the first phases the SW should rely on a pre-generated track and only modify it (this could accelerate the development). Later on, the SW could be upgraded to have more design options.

If some PC SW developers would like to start working on such project I will be more than happy to help.

BTW: PD could have develop such a tool for the PC, and supply it in a separated disc (either by purchasing or free), but I think that Kaz would have wanted the tool to be on the PS3 and that is why we never had it (PD are not a PC software supplier).

What do you think?