Is this penalty or not?

• Thread starter Barareklam
  • 13 comments
Sweden
Sweden, Gothenburg
Highlanderlast
At the moment there is time trial competition on Sport mode on Alsace, using Suzuki. I am just average driver with plenty of space for improving skills. I see that current leader is having time 1:35:something and it's possible to download replay and even ghost. So when I checked his path, I see he is cutting corners and still don't get penalty. So this, see image, is obviously not penalty. But I wonder, should it be?
What rules says?

Attachments

• 181c093fef014-screenshotUrl.jpg
    181c093fef014-screenshotUrl.jpg
    184.7 KB · Views: 13
These aliens search the routes for the very last useful centimeters that they can save/shorten. So it's normal that there is something like that. In this situation, I assume that at least 1 tire must still be on the curb in order not to be penalized.

I'm no expert but I think the limit is the white line, one tyre has to touch it, but I have the impression that the game sometimes doesn't check on that, maybe when there is no time to get from it. It would be good to know if further ahead, before the corner, the game would also allow the car to be so wide to the left and not touching the white line.

Actually, you can run completely off the track for that turn and the game doesn't penalize you.

However, the top time on the leaderboard stays on the hard stuff because it has more grip.

So this, see image, is obviously not penalty. But I wonder, should it be? What rules says?
Well... what rules?

There's no clearly stated objective rules for what constitutes track limits in GT7 at all. Sometimes just putting a wheel outside the white line is a track limits violation, sometimes you can be yards beyond it running on concrete.

1841a4dff6676-screenshotUrl.jpg

A bit strange that I did not receive a penalty for this. (Dunlop chicane lap 1)

1841a4e20bc18-screenshotUrl.jpg