Lift-off oversteer: the secret to successful muscle-car drifting

Parnelli Bone

www.gtcarreviews.com
Premium
United States
Columbia, MD.
Parnelli_Bones
img0013.jpg

I need to tell you guys something. I am a bit of a newb.

img0014.jpg

I'm not afraid to admit this. I am a newb. More specifically, i am a drifting newb...at least so far as GT4 is concerned. But recently, i have made the step from newb to intermediate. 👍

img0015.jpg

In earlier games, (GT1, GT2, and gT3) i got rather good at controllable drifting. No, i can't say i'm one of those guys who can power-slide into a corner at insane speeds, but i was certainly capable at getting (at least) predictable drifts that look good in replays. What happened in gT4??? I SUCKED!

img0016.jpg

My early attempts at GT4 drifting were 90% complete disasters with the occasional half-baked power-slide (but not a true drift). I didn't get why. I would brake into turns just like i did in earlier games. I would hammer the throttle and (when appropriate) start to countersteer. That's where it all would fail. :guilty:

Most of the time, i would wind up spinning out. The dreaded SNAPBACK SYNDROME. Ugh. :crazy: And if i couldn't get a workable slide going, instead my car would unceremoniously understeer. :mad:👎 Since i would often try & perform drifts during sim races, i sometimes would lose a position or 2 as i fuddled around. :banghead: Well, no more.

img0017.jpg

Recently (as in tonite) things have changed. I can now predictably drift just about any passenger car that is driftable...including the 456-bhp black Chevelle pictured above.

I used to try and drift this Chevelle...either i would get snapback, understeer, or the dreaded power-spin. But tonite i figured out the secret: lift-off oversteer.

1). Drive toward a turn...for me, right now the tighter turns are best...i'm not a pro yet. :guilty: Brake heavily at first if you need to.