Lordstown Motors Endurance: An electric truck from Ohio

EngieDiesel

Resident 'phox
Premium
United States
Columbus, Ohio
It occurred to me that this doesn't seem to have been mentioned, and as an Ohio resident I would be remiss to not bring some attention to it. Taking over the massive GM assembly plant in Lordstown, Ohio that formerly built the Chevy Cruze and was shuttered last March, the recently founded Lordstown Motors Corp., backed by electric work truck maker Workhorse Group, will be building a full-size electric truck called the Endurance. A working prototype was debuted last Thursday (complete with Mike Pence glad-handing everyone... it is an election year after all), with production planned to start sometime in 2021.

All wheel drive, estimated MSRP is $52,500 before the federal tax credit, estimated range is "at least 250 miles" with a towing capacity of 7,500 pounds. There are currently 14,000 preorders on the books, according to this article. I have to say I'm very interested in this, not just because it's coming from Ohio but also because it adds even more competition to what's looking to be a very interesting time for EV development. There's a lot of new names with big backers coming onto the scene, and the more serious investment there is in the technology, the better and more affordable it will become.

And hey, it doesn't look like it fell out of a Playstation 1 game either, so that's a bonus too.

Lordstown-motors-electric-pickup-prototype-5.jpeg

lordstown-motors-endurance-serie-2020-004-min.png

Those wheels are pretty rad, or are those the actual motors sticking through?

The cover picture on the specs page shows them in a more traditional silver color, and you can see the orange bit shining through the spokes. I'm guessing it's a fancy cover behind the actual rim to give the in-hub motors some protection from mud/dirt/road debris, most likely? They appear to be positioning this as a work truck primarily, so it would make sense.