[Mod] Gran Turismo 2 plus (bug fixes, restored content and new content)

Discussion in 'Gran Turismo 2' started by pez2k, May 18, 2018.

  1. submaniac93

    submaniac93

    Messages:
    1,228
    Location:
    France
    Yeah it would work on the PSclassic since it's an emulator as well. Your way of doing 60fps works.. but it makes the game harder (because everything is playing faster) lol
    Not counting the music playing faster, which i personally don't like x)
     
    karelpipa likes this.
  2. Sal_89

    Sal_89

    Messages:
    167
    Location:
    Italy
    True, but I like more so^^. I'm obsessed with 60fps haha
     
  3. B_rad88!

    B_rad88!

    Messages:
    259
    Location:
    United States
    I've noticed another bug/problem.....


    The final version of the 1991 Nissan Silvia S13 light green two-tone isn't a two-tone at all.

    Screenshot_2019-02-17-02-38-12.png
    (That pic is from pez2k's alpha 3 PAL patch)



    But in the demos (I forgot which one I used) has the correct Silvia S13 light green two-tone.

    Screenshot_2019-02-21-13-31-29.png
    (That pic if from NTSC v1.2 using demo car mod)


    Also the NTSC v1.2 Honda civic sedans have dohc engines in game where as most sold in USA had sohc engines.

    And pez2k, are you going to restore the soft-top lotus elise as a prize car? I'm sorry if that has been asked before.
     
  4. GETEDA

    GETEDA

    Messages:
    496
    This was already discussed? The Honda Prelude Type-S '96 still has the AYC available to buy.
     
  5. Railgun

    Railgun

    Messages:
    189
    Location:
    Mexico
    Hi, i have another bug. The red color of the peugeot 206 s16 has 2 green squares on the fog lights, this is only in that color
    SCES_123.80_15022019_231135_0318.jpg
     
  6. pez2k

    pez2k

    Messages:
    476
    Interesting, I'll check the Silvia.

    The Civics are all Japanese models, despite the localisation trying to put US names on them. I'll be reverting the names in a future version.

    That Elise has a very inaccurate model, among other issues. Part of it may get reused for something else, but not yet.

    I believe this is intentional, as the car has 4-wheel steering.

    Nice spot, I'll check it out.

    No guarantee that any of these will be fixed in alpha 4 as it's 99% done right now, but if they're quick fixes I'll throw them in.
     
    AnotherLife and B_rad88! like this.
  7. B_rad88!

    B_rad88!

    Messages:
    259
    Location:
    United States

    Yeah I noticed the Silvia a few days ago, but just didn't have time to post it.

    And OK, I'm sure you are aware that you could get USDM civics by swapping/hybriding the Del Sol's sohc engines into them.

    Oh also would the soft-top Elise be more accurate to use a final body with the soft-top texture?





    And on a side note I did find a cool car for a nice addition to gt2.... I know you said you probably won't add more cars, but this.... I couldn't resist sharing......

    The ultra rare Renault Laguna biturbo Hartge, 7 supposedly built, only 1 was shown with modified Bugatti EB110 rims, while the others has the Renault Safrane biturbo Hartge rims.

    http://boitierrouge.com/2014/06/17/linconnue-de-la-semaine-la-renault-laguna-biturbo/

    There is also a YouTube video on that site of the Laguna biturbo. I learned about new car today.
     
    submaniac93 likes this.
  8. Sal_89

    Sal_89

    Messages:
    167
    Location:
    Italy
    Very very strange thing. I don't have this glitch in my GT2+. Vanilla GT2 too
    @pez2k, is true that all of the Volkswagen Golf have the same body for every model? (If I remember right, every Golf uses the V6 model) and is possible to add a Golf R32?
     
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2019
    B_rad88! likes this.
  9. B_rad88!

    B_rad88!

    Messages:
    259
    Location:
    United States
    Like the issue with my focus rs I made, it's to new for gt2. And also all golf models in game are of 4door variant where as the golf r32 is 2door only. So that would require modding the mesh not just the textures.


    @pez2k
    Oh and I checked alpha 3 patch on my pal copy for the peugeot glitch and I don't have that issue, it works fine for me. By the way his pic of the peugeot glitch is in the spanish menu.
     
  10. AnotherLife

    AnotherLife

    Messages:
    2
    @pez2k
    Impressive work! Please stop adding things and release the new version though haha!

    I am avoiding playing vanilla or alpha 3 because I will have to start a new game for alpha 4 :D
     
  11. pez2k

    pez2k

    Messages:
    476
    The texture mapping is completely different on the old model, it would need a lot of work.

    It's pretty similar but there are tiny variances in the texture.

    That's the plan - there are a few things to fix on the Vectra SRi and the NSX-R LM GT2, but once those are done it'll only be a week or so to package everything up, build it and test it.
     
  12. Sal_89

    Sal_89

    Messages:
    167
    Location:
    Italy


    @pez2k
    You mean GTI, V6 and so on badges on the rear?


    @B_rad88! But is possibile to made one? I suppose that you are enough good to do this. @submaniac93 too
     
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2019
    B_rad88! likes this.
  13. B_rad88!

    B_rad88!

    Messages:
    259
    Location:
    United States
    It's plausible. But I don't know if Submaniac93 would be willing to shorten the golf mesh and make adjustments to it.
     
  14. GETEDA

    GETEDA

    Messages:
    496
    Can someone add more flavors please.. TVR Speed 12 :)
    [​IMG]
     
    B_rad88! likes this.
  15. pez2k

    pez2k

    Messages:
    476
    No, just small variances that might not even be deliberate.

    That's the Cerbera Speed 12, which is a different car to the Speed 12 in GT2. The one Speed 12 roadcar built was purple, while the one Cerbera Speed 12 roadcar was initially silver, later raspberry.
     
    tankuroded and B_rad88! like this.
  16. Sal_89

    Sal_89

    Messages:
    167
    Location:
    Italy
    I'm sure that non-iridiscent colors are possibile to make. PS1 can't handle iridescent colors, guess
     
  17. GETEDA

    GETEDA

    Messages:
    496
    Yeah ... it seems that PD forgot to write "Prototype", the original tvr speed 12 has a unique color.
     
    B_rad88! likes this.
  18. B_rad88!

    B_rad88!

    Messages:
    259
    Location:
    United States

    IIRC I swear test drive 5 had the TVR speed12 in sorta iridescent colors....

    Screenshot_2019-02-23-17-16-15.png
    Screenshot_2019-02-23-17-31-32.png

    It's kinda iridescent. So maybe.....
     
  19. submaniac93

    submaniac93

    Messages:
    1,228
    Location:
    France
    I'm not an expert at shading so I'm personally not gonna attempt making a believable iridescent shade on a non-dynamic paint ^^'
     
    B_rad88! likes this.
  20. B_rad88!

    B_rad88!

    Messages:
    259
    Location:
    United States
    Wouldn't it also require modding the texture to get the dual color fading proper? In similar aspects of stripes in gt2 where they are a slightly different color on the texture. Otherwise it would just appear as light source shading....example 1996 RX7 hood.....
     
  21. submaniac93

    submaniac93

    Messages:
    1,228
    Location:
    France
    The ps1 is not capable of dynamic color changes. In order to make an iridescent color, you have to paint it in a way that won't look too bad on most angles. And with 16 colors. I'm not gonna attempt that lmao
    And yes, full texture editing is required here. you can't just recolor parts of the texture here.
     
    B_rad88! likes this.
  22. B_rad88!

    B_rad88!

    Messages:
    259
    Location:
    United States
    Yeah I know, between the CPU power it would take and the limitation of the 16bit ware..... it would look like what was done in test drive 5. Not really iridescent, but it's good enough for PS1.

    And I figured, as the way gt2 texture/coloring works. The limits of life...... And oh maybe so...... If done properly theoretically it could work since they did it with singling out the hood to black on the spoon civic type r.
     
  23. pez2k

    pez2k

    Messages:
    476
    The Spoon Civic just uses a different palette on the bonnet faces.
     
    B_rad88! likes this.
  24. pez2k

    pez2k

    Messages:
    476
    Spotted a fun little bug with very noticeable effects - three of the Acura NSXes have RMs that are not available ingame. Why? Because someone made a mistake and each of the three are marked as upgrades for themselves, instead of upgrades for the actual car. The RMs are fully implemented, it's just a typo that stops them from appearing.

    Of course, it's fixed for alpha 4, all are buyable through the newly accessible Acura dealership.
     
    karelpipa, B_rad88! and Alex Carriel like this.
  25. Alex Carriel

    Alex Carriel

    Messages:
    51
    Location:
    Brazil
    So that's why the NSXes from the american version didn't have their respective RM's? (With exception of one that I don't remember the model)
     
  26. B_rad88!

    B_rad88!

    Messages:
    259
    Location:
    United States
    Doesn't GT2 use both texture and color palettes to gain that affect? Meaning it would require the texture to have the hood different color than the rest of the car and also having the color palette to display it.

    Is it the same issue with the Acura Integra's?
     
  27. JB5_Bluestone

    JB5_Bluestone

    Messages:
    48
    so we get NSX's from honda and acura?
     
  28. pez2k

    pez2k

    Messages:
    476
    Yes, literally just a typo from PD.

    Looks like it, yeah.

    Yes - they're more or less the same outside of the RMs. The Integras vary more though, with a different front end and different trim levels.

    On the regular '97 Type R at least, the bonnet and roof palettes are almost exactly the same in terms of which shades in which order, but for the Special Colour version one used black colours while the other used body colours.

    The model selects which palette to use for which faces, and which bits of the texture to use for those faces. The texture itself doesn't intrinsically have any colour to it, just palette indexes which can represent any colour depending on the palette.
     
  29. B_rad88!

    B_rad88!

    Messages:
    259
    Location:
    United States
    Is this also why some [R] cars show the rm in the race body mod purchase screen?


    OK, I was trying to understand it abit more. I know the texture (in raw .tim file) shows in a grey scale. When I was deleting decals from some race cars, that's all I did, was modding the texture to remove the decals. On those cars I did mod, the complete original color palette is still intact. So the decals can be reapplied or changed. But I also did experiment with deleting the decals via the color palette and it sorta worked.
     
  30. pez2k

    pez2k

    Messages:
    476
    No, as far as I'm aware that's normal, intended functionality. Any car with an [R] in the menus has a RM part equipped, therefore it can be shown in the tuning shop.

    Technically the texture isn't even greyscale, it has no concept of shade or colour at all. It's just abstract colour indexes that mean nothing without the model to assign a colour palette to them. That's what makes CDP tooling so difficult, it doesn't really exist as a standalone texture.

    If the decals are on their own palette you can just set the whole thing to transparent (0,0,0), but if they're combined with something else they'd need to be painted out on the texture.
     
    B_rad88! likes this.