My first custom rig (PVC)

United States
United States
Chillidog7
Hey All. I’m extremely new to the sim racing world and even DIY. Seriously before recently I had played like 3 racing games Gran Turismo for the PS2, Need for Speed for the PS3 and Mario Cart for the Wii. I fortunately have a friend who not only has an Oculus DK2 and is a iRacing fanatic! He has a great setup and has invested a good deal into it. I cannot stress just how quickly I was sold on racing. I got bit by the racing bug! iRacing is so much fun, and challenging!

So I decided to dive in head first, fortunately I have an amazing wife for letting be blow way more money than I should. Without any further ado I can’t help but show off my rig, I’m so happy with how it turned out. I researched for a while on PVC vs wood and I decided to go with PVC because of the lack of cutting tools I own and Painted it looks so bad @$$. My buddy had some old racing wheels and pedals he let me try and eventually by his better back up set. But I started out with his Logitec setup and eventually purchased his Fanatec wheel and pedals (amazing quality). I had so much fun building this rig, I still need to paint a few last pieces but I have taken a break to play and now I’m losing the desire to finish but I’m sure I will, the black and red just looks too good!

0115161956a_zpswqnjliix.jpg

20 ft of 2 inch pvc

22 sanitary t’s

6 45 degree elbow

8 90 degree elbow

13ebcce2-db26-4ac8-ae64-84f3230b33b8_zpsbmgxkt7s.jpg

$67 in PVC honestly I over paid because it was a local hardware store. But I’m too impatient. All in all I spent about $100 in materials and stuff, and I paid $50 for my chair but I’ll get to that soon.

0115162154b_zps31goviez.jpg