My Killer R33 Suspension Setup!!

• Thread starter boooger78
  • 24 comments
The Skyline R33 is one of my favorite cars in GT1 and 2. So, I bought a used one for the memories. I started playing around with the suspension settings and I think I found the ultimate setup.

This setup will work with an R33 '95 and '96. I haven't tried it on an R34. The car should be maxed out on power and weight reduction (745bhp I think). I recommend using hard racing tires for races w/ tire wear and soft or super soft for races without tire wear. The transmission setting should be set at 11 or 12. I use 11 then tweak the final gear ratio a bit for top speed, but no too much. This should give you maximum acceleration out of turns.

It is best on all road and race courses except the oval courses. It is also good on Nuburgring, but you'd have to set the tranny for top speed a bit. For road courses, top speed is sacrificed because of the gearing (11). If gearing was higher then acceleration out of the turns will suffer, I'm sure some of you know this already. So I use 11 for the tranny on all regular road corses.

With this setup, your R33 will "hug" the road, literally! It will open up a new dimension of playing, for me at least. IMO I think it handles similar, if not, better than some of the race cars in the Japan All Stars Championship. By the way I won the JASC w/ my R33. I did not have to tweak the transmission setting at all.

How to approach turns w/ my setup: Upon a turn or chicane, BRAKE!!!-bring the car down to about 75-85mph then turn. Try to hit the apex of the corner. Point the front of the car in the direction you want it to go and accelerate. Experiment on different track to find the proper racing line. This setup makes racing in Suzuka, Fuji, and Motega very enjoyable!

Okay if you've made it this far in my post, here is My Killer R33 Suspension Setup:

(All Settings Listed are the ONLY SETTINGs that should be adjusted)

Suspension:
Front Rear
SR 7.4 9.4
RH 105mm 101mm