NA Races Timeslot POLL

Discussion in 'GTP Weekly Race Series Online Events' started by Speedy6543, Aug 6, 2018.

?

What time do you want the NA race at?

Poll closed Friday at 4:22 PM.
  1. leave it at 10:00 PM Eastern / 7:00 PM Pacific / 2:00 AM GMT

    1 vote(s)
    7.7%
  2. change it to 9:00 PM Eastern / 6:00 PM Pacific / 1:00 AM GMT

    4 vote(s)
    30.8%
  3. change it to 8:00 PM Eastern / 5:00 PM Pacific / 12:00 AM GMT

    3 vote(s)
    23.1%
  4. change it to 7:00 PM Eastern / 4:00 PM Pacific / 11:00 PM GMT

    7 vote(s)
    53.8%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. Speedy6543

    Speedy6543 Staff Emeritus

    Messages:
    6,680
    Location:
    Belgium
    A Simple POLL to see if there's any interest and/or point to change the NA Race Timeslot.

    Please state your reason(s) why or why not below.
     
  2. EDK

    EDK Moderator

    Messages:
    13,274
    Location:
    United States
    I am traveling so much for work now that it's not practical for me to weigh in on this.
     
  3. Argon

    Argon Premium

    Messages:
    3,430
    Location:
    England
    An earlier time slot would mean there is a greater chance that I can join from time to time
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 6, 2018
  4. Bass Addict

    Bass Addict Premium

    Messages:
    915
    Location:
    United States
    Personally, I would like the 7pm time...:)

    The Steward / Host in me wants to see more people racing the NA OLR so whatever time works for the community works for me. :tup::tup:
     
    MikeyLCR, hirnsauger69 and Argon like this.
  5. GTP_Nail

    GTP_Nail Premium

    Messages:
    3,368
    Location:
    United States
    when you finish the poll then ask what TZ the respondents are in and who will be totally unable to participate
     
    hirnsauger69 likes this.
  6. GTP_Nail

    GTP_Nail Premium

    Messages:
    3,368
    Location:
    United States
    Non na members should not participate as they have their own race and they would skew the results unfairly...as I noted on the convo I prefer two races on Saturday
     
    hirnsauger69 likes this.
  7. GTP_Nail

    GTP_Nail Premium

    Messages:
    3,368
    Location:
    United States
    but as I noted in the poll convo this is about NA.... you already have tour own race... you are a greedy Brit.... :lol:
     
    hirnsauger69, Bass Addict and Argon like this.
  8. Argon

    Argon Premium

    Messages:
    3,430
    Location:
    England
    BigGrin.gif
     
  9. GTP_Nail

    GTP_Nail Premium

    Messages:
    3,368
    Location:
    United States
    too bad there isn’t a REALLY LIKE button
     
  10. Renrag39

    Renrag39 Premium

    Messages:
    671
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    7pm would suit me, as then I'd be able to race the ungrateful colonists... :D:D:D
    Didn't vote, btw :tup:
     
  11. Bass Addict

    Bass Addict Premium

    Messages:
    915
    Location:
    United States
    This ungrateful colonist says go ahead and vote...:lol::lol:
     
    Renrag39, MikeyLCR, Argon and 2 others like this.
  12. suprajef

    suprajef Premium

    Messages:
    1,260
    Location:
    United States
    Changed my vote to 8est for the best of both worlds
     
  13. GTP_Nail

    GTP_Nail Premium

    Messages:
    3,368
    Location:
    United States
    I want to vote again and I’m holding my breath until you let me ( or until I pass out?)
     
  14. MikeyLCR

    MikeyLCR Premium

    Messages:
    368
    Location:
    Wales
    Saturday is normally drinking and watching sports day so there's two chances of me staying awake or capable for those, slim and none....and slim just left town. I'll stick to the Europe one..I know my place :D:D
     
    Bass Addict, Argon and hirnsauger69 like this.
  15. Argon

    Argon Premium

    Messages:
    3,430
    Location:
    England
    The NA race is held on Wednesdays ;)
     
  16. MikeyLCR

    MikeyLCR Premium

    Messages:
    368
    Location:
    Wales
    Oh yeah doh!
    th.jpg

    In that case once a night is enough for me fnarr fnarr :lol:
     
    Bass Addict and hirnsauger69 like this.
  17. Speedy6543

    Speedy6543 Staff Emeritus

    Messages:
    6,680
    Location:
    Belgium
    And what do you NA guys think about voting every week?
    Stating your vote in the comment box of the google doc while you register.
    Of course you can post your vote in that weeks thread too if you want.
     
    Bass Addict likes this.
  18. GTP_Nail

    GTP_Nail Premium

    Messages:
    3,368
    Location:
    United States
    works for me because then you can plan your week. 7 or 8 eastern is too early for me.

    I actually joined WRS because I personally could do all three because the NA race was at 9 Central and was very well attended. Perhaps the Stewards (or rather we need a membership steward(s)) should chase down the people who left and send them a re-introduction package. Its easier to re energize an old customer than to get a new one who may not even end up racing at all. Of course you could require that TTers who do not race,race on a determined frequency...right now they are not contributing anything to the race side (of course all the racers except me are TTers :boggled:). We are unbalanced and that needs to stop or we vanish...

    The problem is not the time, its the lack of drivers which is caused, at least partially, by the racers in the WRS being the fastest drivers to survive over the years, which has resulted in a reputation of the WRS being FAST and elitist, (which is deserved and unfortunate from an uninformed point of view) and results in scaring off potential new drivers, and even those who have joined. Add to that the obscure combos which are slanted to TT vs racing and new guys vanish quickly. We are missing the real problem here...the survival of the WRS.

    IMHO we need to create a number of race series that will attract new drivers, who, if they like the racing, will join. With three weekly or monthly series, properly promoted, with real race cars on real race circuits, we will give our members something to look forward to and at the same time attract new members. People are screaming for fair racing...someplace where you can actually go two or three deep into a corner and KNOW that no one will have you off out of spite or pure idiocy! Some Series can be for fun, some deadly serious. Good grief lets redo the one off races from GT6, the work has been done already.

    When a "for fun" group of guys at the ring out draw the WRS regular races consistently, there is a problem. The "Rats" have never had less than 6 and twice have had 15 and we are unaffiliated (well if truth be told almost every one of us is a WRS member :tup:) and do not usually do any promotion (like posting a separate thread for a specific race).

    Sorry for the long post.....moving the time to a more convenient time slot to increase attendance is a GREAT idea and will result in more actual racing but the Elephant in the room is a total lack of membership growth, and the disappearance of our membership base . Something needs to be done.....soon. I personally do not want this great group of guys to vanish to Assetto Corsa or PC2. It would be a huge loss. I volunteer to help in ANY way at any time. Remember time is all I have as I am trapped in an equestrian nirvana and I don't ride.:crazy:
     
  19. dranddad

    dranddad Premium

    Messages:
    2,493
    Location:
    England
    NA, I find it very difficult to judge my braking distance pasted -out horizontal with eyes closed, dreaming of my first win in online WRS.
     
  20. Bass Addict

    Bass Addict Premium

    Messages:
    915
    Location:
    United States
    The results of this poll keeping changing like the room of requirement in Harry Potter...:lol:
     
    Argon, hirnsauger69 and dranddad like this.
  21. shoenboggie

    shoenboggie

    Messages:
    472
    Location:
    United States
    I agree with all that has been stated above. I was originally thinking it was a Summer thing and people not having as much time. I know that is the case with me. Summer = 1 to 1.5 hours a week vs. 3-4 hours a week for GTSport during the Winter.

    We need to try something different...