Need advice on buying a PS2 for GT4

United States
United States
I've been wanting to play older racing games a lot lately, I've spent a decent amount of time in the first Gran Turismo, and I recently bought Forza Motorsport 3 to dive back into after a decade. But my most sought-after game is probably Gran Turismo 4, mainly for nostalgic reasons, but I've been a bit wary of the prospect of buying older consoles. My main concerns are affordable options for HDMI output, as well as decent third-party controllers, given that used controllers of that age tend to be worn out or just plain gross.

I have no experience using older hardware with modern displays, and I'm not looking to spend much money on a converter, as my decision to impulsively buy a sixteen year old console/game depends on whether I can do it relatively cheaply. This seems like it could be a good option for me, especially because I could use it with my computer monitor and split the audio to my speakers. If it works well it seems perfect for my needs.

The obvious answer would be to just google it and research for myself which I am doing, but I'm also fairly certain some people here have first-hand experience with trying to play GT4 on legitimate hardware. I'm just looking for general advice on decent third-party controllers (hopefully with pressure sensitivity) in case I get a busted one with the console, decent/cheap image converters, and any other suggestions, or just pitfalls to look out for when dealing with older consoles. Thank you!

I’ve used my NTSC Silver Slim serial number version #79001 for GT4 during many years of play without a hitch. Should you have any extra interest in hybrid of the game it also runs Codebreaker versions 9.x and 10.x with out any problem as long as you don’t have anything plugged into the USB. Of course it’s way more fun to complete the game without that as it was meant to be played. IMHO it is one of the best games ever produced for the era.