Need help with a Storage solution

• Thread starter FPV MIC
  • 4 comments

FPV MIC

Premium
Australia
Australia
GT-MIC
Last night my 10 TB external hard drive decided to give up on me so I need to find a way to store large amounts of files in a better way. I didn't lose anything as I have two 8 TB HD's as a back up in my home office and the one that failed was in my bar and used for playing music from (HD concerts, DVD files, mp3's etc.).

As you can see I have very large storage needs, but I have very little knowledge on how would be the best way to back up and possibly stream all of my music (15 TB's at this stage... but I'm waiting for several more DVD's & Blu-rays to arrive) to my bar.

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated as I fear if one of my office HD's go down I stand to lose just under 8 TB's of concerts :scared:

:cheers:

Depends on your budget, but a RAID 5 array or Drobo (or other proprietary RAID scheme) is probably what you want. Not sure about using them as streaming servers as I only have experience with Drobo DAS drives, but depending on how much you want to spend it's a good way to get a large amount of storage, redundancy, expandability (again, if you want to pay for it) and they also alert you when a drive has failed so you can hot swap a dead drive out with no loss of data.

At work we use Drobo 5c DAS enclosures to store working backups of video projects (the proper backups we have are too slow to work from because, of course, storing hours and hours of 4K ProRes video requires a lot of space). They are quite slow for bulk transfers, but for streaming media I'm sure they'd be good enough. As for how you'd stream stuff, I'm not really sure as it's been over a decade since I did it and it didn't work very well, but you can get some DAS drives with built-in media server software and the Raspberry Pi 4 would also be good for that kind of application as it's got gigabit Ethernet and USB 3.0.