Need help with steering technique

• Thread starter FakeID341
  • 10 comments
Canada
Montreal
FakeID341
I'm new to drifting and being somewhat of a perfectionist i'm worried about developing bad steering habits. I've been looking all over the internet for explanations regarding the steering technique used by drifters but even watching onboard videos didn't help me understand what is going on. The drivingfast.net drifting guide recommends not to let the wheel run between your hands but most drifters seem to let go of the wheel and catch it so i'm confused. If you could explain how YOU handle the steering wheel while drifting that would be very helpful.

90% of the drifters let go, as do I. It is definitely possible to drift well by letting go. :)

Thing is, the best way to drift is by guiding the steering wheel with your hands, even during transitions etc. :)

Will be uploading a video of this, if I can find it.

Edit, couldn't find it so I'll be passing on this one :)

Last edited:
You don't move the Wheel, it moves itself with what you do on the pedals
That has to be the general idea, of course

When parked, Start by watching your car from the front outside view
Then make with your wheel 1/4, 1/2, 3/4, 1 lap and then 1 lap 1/4 to be on lock

Watch the angle of your front wheels each time
Since you always need to countersteer to point the direction you go,
You'll Know "how much wheel you need for a given angle"

A small angle and you don't have to move your hands, a bigger one Will ask you to put
3/4 or More, on lock being your aim at all Times to get maximum angle :)

The speed the car gets that angle indicates you at wich speed you have to put the good
Input at the wheel
If you Throw your car at the Max angle as quickly as possible,
You'll Know you have to counterteer full lock so fast that you let it go between your
Fingers because it is the only way to match the movement of the car