Need some advice.

• Thread starter ACGreen86
  • 28 comments
United States
MI
Hello out there GTP. I come to you with a question, and humbly ask for your assistance. A tiny bit of background about me: I am an aspiring drifter, who prefers cars that are lightweight with low power. I drift slow and smooth, which most of my friends hate. For me, it's the style that matters, not the speed.

OK, now for the car. I have a Celica XX 2800GT 81' that has been giving me some trouble. For those who don't know, the stats are as follows: FR, 299hp, 1054kg, 65-35 weight balance. I will post my tune at the bottom.

My question is, how do I get this car to drift wider circles, without having to shallow my angle. In every other car I drift, I know that at certain curves I can have certain angles. In this car, I have to run a much more shallow angle in order to clear the curve. I am NOT a pro, but even I could notice the difference. This car handles VERY differently from my other cars, and I'm not sure why. It almost feels the way MR cars feel, but I know that that cannot be right.

The other thing is, the car very much wants to straighten itself out while drifting. I set my cars to have only front brakes, and with all my other cars I can use the brakes during drifts, which causes the back of the car to rotate around. With the Celica, using the brakes causes the car to straighten out which is infuriating to me since that was a key point in my drift style. I've tried all manner of toe combinations to get this problem solved with no results...

I hope that you can help GTP. I very much want to drift the Celica, mainly because I LOVE that body style, and the straight six engine. Thank you for reading my request.

EDIT: Updating the tune as it changes so that you can see what I'm working with here.
Last change was Gonales suggestion of LSD Decel and FastFox suggestion of Brake Bias:

All upgrades
Weight balance: 65-35 -no ballast
LSD: 5-60-60
Susp:
Height: -10mm -10mm
Springs: 9.0 6.0