Passion for the sport (any rowers out there?)

United States
Orlando FL
RSM-ShiroJP
I've been rowing for 4 years now. I am the stroke sit of my team's Varsity 8 (meaning 8 person boat)
I've tried so many sports in my life and rowing has been so much different than any other, it's my passion. I used to believe I was in perfect shape for any sport that came ahead, and I was right for most of the time, I never had to do catch up but only keep my shape. I never felt out of shape. But when it came to rowing, I had never felt so week, so torn apart and felt so much pain in my life. At first I thought maybe it was just because I was new to the sport, but no, the pain is part of the sport, it's about how much pain you can take and keep going, keep giving all you have as if you were full of energy. You can't just stop. You just get used to the pain and know that "it was hurting too much" is no excuse to stop during a race or training. You just keep pushing, even when you feel you are about to destroy your muscle, you push even harder, if it hurts, you fight the pain by going even harder. Our coach has a saying: you win the race during practice, so you push your self as hard as you would during a race because after all, that's what's gonna make you win the event.
In a race, you are mentally prepared to die to win, give everything you can possibly give. The one who wants to win is the one who is willing to die in every stroke they take. The one who feels that every stroke is the last one because their body could not take another one without falling in pieces, yet they push harder than the last one.