Power vs Weight tuning

• Thread starter wolfdude
  • 19 comments
GTP_wolfdude
G'day all!

I'm still learning how to tune properly so please don't flame me ;)

When tuning to meet a particular PP limit, would one lower/increase the weight to achieve this or lower/increase the power? I guess what I'm interested to know is which one should be given priority? Of course it'll be best to have power increased & weight reduced to the max at the same time to achieve a particular PP but what about situations when we can't. e.g. tuning the GTR R-35 on N3 to 550pp where we either have to increase power & increase weight OR decrease power & decrease weight BUT not both.

At the moment, what I do is increase/decrease the weight by 5% & adjust the power to meet the required PP then give it a few runs and repeat until I find a combination that works best. This is assuming everything else remains the same (i.e. gear ratio, springs, etc...) but this is time consuming and not accurate.

Appreciate your help here 👍

Thanks.
:cheers:

Theoretically the PP system takes it all into account so that if you have the same PP with max power or with min weight you'll be exactly as fast. Yeah right...

For Suzuka I always go min weight. For Daytona oval always max power. For the other tracks I'll mess with power and weight to see which combination works best. HSR seems to like alot of power.

Of course it gets more complicated when you throw in aero adjustments. Do you give up power for downforce but more drag? Do you give up downforce for lower weight and less drag? Again, Suzuka likes downforce. Daytona oval hates drag. Other tracks not so cut-and-dried.

Try setting power for the broadest flatest power curve and then adjusting weight for that. That is usually a good starting point.