Question about HP/Torque and Shifting

• Thread starter barak181
  • 10 comments
United States
Phoenix, AZ
MonyB
Hey, all. So, while I'm not really a newbie to GTS, I do still pretty much consider myself a newbie to simracing. A lot of times I look at settings and I'm not really sure what I should take away from them. Like this. I'm signed with Renault Sport for the Manu Series. The Megane's not the fastest car in the world, so I'm looking to eek every bit of speed and acceleration I can out of it. Am I reading this right? To me, that graph says max horsepower and torque both happen before max RPMs and actually drop off quite dramatically at max RPMs. Should I be short shifting a little bit for max acceleration and power?

Megane Gr4 Settings Power.jpg
Megane Gr4 Settings Graph.jpg

Hey, all. So, while I'm not really a newbie to GTS, I do still pretty much consider myself a newbie to simracing. A lot of times I look at settings and I'm not really sure what I should take away from them. Like this. I'm signed with Renault Sport for the Manu Series. The Megane's not the fastest car in the world, so I'm looking to eek every bit of speed and acceleration I can out of it. Am I reading this right? To me, that graph says max horsepower and torque both happen before max RPMs and actually drop off quite dramatically at max RPMs. Should I be short shifting a little bit for max acceleration and power?

View attachment 881163 View attachment 881164

Torque seems to peak around 3500 rpms and really starts to drop off after about 5500 or so RPM's.
Looks like you have reached the Maximum HP at about 6800 RPM and anything past that the HP and torque are both declining so I would shift around the 6800 point as max rpm trying for maximum speed and if trying to fuel save probably about the 5500-5700 rpm range.

This is just my opinion looking at the graph, on track testing will give you the best results when things like aerodynamics are also in play.