Race help!

• Thread starter jussa88
  • 8 comments
United States
United States
Hey, I'm new here. :) I'd say I'm a decent driver in Gran Turismo 4 but I have a problem: I can't even win a 1 point A-spec race.

For example, I used a Cadillac CIEN on the American Championship (it was a 1 point race) and I wasn't even close with keeping up with the competition. I'm not THAT bad of a driver as I'm pretty good staying with the racing line.

What am I doing wrong? Thanks.

Last edited:
Hey, I'm new here. :) I'd say I'm a decent driver in Gran Turismo 4 but I have a problem: I can't even win a 1 point A-spec race.

For example, I used a Cadillac CIEN on the American Championship (it was a 1 point race) and I wasn't even close with keeping up with the competition. I'm not THAT bad of a driver as I'm pretty good staying with the racing line.

If you are referring to the 5-race championship series, you have race cars as opponents. So, that's why you're so slow compared to them. Try using a race car for this event, or focus on winning the easier races first. 👍

If you are referring to the 5-race championship series, you have race cars as opponents. So, that's why you're so slow compared to them. Try using a race car for this event, or focus on winning the easier races first. 👍

Hmm... but the Cadillac is a 1000 hp beast. (fully upgraded) It's not considered a race car?

Hmm... but the Cadillac is a 1000 hp beast. (fully upgraded) It's not considered a race car?
Race cars are in a different class compared to the Cien. I recommend you judge a car based on it's handling and high performance engine.

What tires do you have? Opponents in this series have Racing tires. If you're using Sports, you'll have a hard time keeping up.

But even with Racing tires, the Cien is hard to control with all that power, it lacks downforce. If you don't have an USA race car, complete the Stars and Stripes event and you'll get Camaro Race Car. It's fast and can compete in the series easily. 👍