• 6 comments

RikkiGT-R

GT: IamValhalla
Premium
United Kingdom
United Kingdom
Rikki_GTR
IamValhalla
Forum seems dead but I'll post it anyway...

I'm a beginner (approx 4 days drifting so far). It's driving me insane. I'm watching tutorials on YouTube and trying to apply the advice to my own game but nothing is working. I don't seem to be learning.

The problem is that there seems to be no way to improve. If I try the same thing 100 times, the result will be different every single time so I've no idea which part of my technique (lol) is the problem.
If I try something different 100 times, the result is equally different each time.

My main problem is with countersteering. I watch the replays all the time (of seasonal events top scores) and I notice those guys are at full opposite lock through the entirety of each drift. But when I try that my car either spins out, or actually steers in the direction I turn the wheel, so when I drift I have to barely steer and hold the car in a kind of semi-drift because full countersteering is disastrous 100% of the time. It makes no sense.

I don't know what I'm doing wrong. :banghead:

In the new Clubman seasonal event, I can get 1400 points in the first corner, but then barely 500 in the rest, if any at all. Then my next attempt(s) I'll crash at the first corner 10 times in a row despite doing the EXACT SAME THING that got me 1400 points. There's no consistency in anything I'm doing.
I need a seasoned drifter to give me some kind of advice that makes the penny drop.

Please help me understand it :(

Last edited by a moderator:
What car(s) and suspension setup? Your suspension probably isn't set very well. Look up drift tuning guides (@shmogt 's is good, but outdated and very basic) Also, have you tried 4WD drifting? It's controllable as hell, but also scores big.

Last edited:
I've been watching a lot of YouTube videos and using tunes from people like "DUBS" but I never get the results those guys get.