Returned to have a proper go.

• Thread starter Seismica
  • 8 comments

Seismica

Premium
United Kingdom
Guisborough
GTP_Seismica
So I started playing this game again earlier today and I have to say it is pretty good. I used to play it with driving aids of, auto gears etc. But after playing GT5P I've learned to drive without them in effect. So I thought I would have a proper go at the career mode in this game.

The physics, whilst arguably not as realistic as GT5P, do have some good points. I am using the pad so I can't comment on force feedback, but from what I can see the physics are ok.

I started a career mode, picked Super Aguri as my team on medium difficulty, and proceeded to become their test driver.

Firstly, I am not familiar with the majority of the F1 circuits, it takes me a few laps to get in the groove. So far, out of Sepang, Barcelona, Silverstone and Bahrain, I have only done good at Bahrain - I know that circuit well after watching the F1 practices, qualifying and races a couple of weeks ago. The test sessions annoy me, because sometimes they have a very low time limit when I have to essentially learn the circuit before I can set my laps.

But when testing at Sepang I came across a very simple flaw. The testing is not very sophisticated at all. The team wanted to test camber angles at Sepang on a wet circuit. That was all well and good, I smashed the target time with neutral camber. But then they put negative camber on the car, and it made the car completely undrivable, snap oversteer on every corner which was near impossible to correct, no traction out of the corners, no grip under the slightest of steering lock etc. I thought, maybe if I drive into the pits the team will get the message that this particular setup is going to get their driver killed.

But no, that doesn't work, it just drives through, so instead I just stop at the side of the track. Then getting back to the main screen I get an email saying my performance was poor :yuck: